Map My Drive Help

Custom Pins

Custom Pins

Custom pins are initially added to your current location but they can easily be moved on the map by long pressing, holding, and then finally dragging to a new location.

Copy

A copy of your current route can be made from the route details screen. A copy will add a new route and copy all of the data from your current route to it. The newly created route can be found on the main route list. It will have the name of the copied route with the text ” – Copy” appended to it. Your current route will be completely unaffected.

Merge

Merge From allows you to merge all of the data from another route into your current route. This can be done from the route details screen. Tapping Merge From will bring up a list of your other routes for you to select from. Tapping on a route will merge all of the data from that route to your current route. Your current route will be affected. The route you tap to merge from will not be affected.

Delete

You can delete a route from the route details screen. Once you delete a route, all of the data is removed and cannot be recovered. You can create backups of each route which you can use to restore data in Map My Drive. See Create Backup for more details.

Share Map

Share Map

To share a link to your map, tap the Share icon in the lower left corner of the map screen. Tap on Share Link To My Map. A url will be generated which can be shared through many other apps.

Sharing a link to your map will save your route, custom pins (excluding images), and weather data to the cloud and generate a link for you to share with friends and family. The link can be viewed from any mobile device or desktop computer where your route will be recreated.

The data is accessible to anyone with the link and will be deleted after 30 days. You can always share the link again to extend the 30 days or even recreate the link after its expired.

If you would like to share all of the route data with friends and family so they can open the route in Map My Drive, see Create Backup for more details.

KML File

KML File

A KML file only contains coordinates necessary to recreate your route. It doesn’t contain custom markers, weather markers, or route details.

To share a KML file, tap the Share icon in the lower left corner of the map screen. Tap on Generate KML File. A KML file will be generated which can saved to your device, iCloud, or shared through many other apps.

KML files can not be imported into Map My Drive at this time.

GPX File

GPX File

A GPX file only contains coordinates necessary to recreate your route. It doesn’t contain custom markers, weather markers, or route details.

To share a GPX file, tap the Share icon in the lower left corner of the map screen. Tap on Generate GPX File. A GPX file will be generated which can saved to your device, iCloud, or shared through many other apps.

GPX files can not be imported into Map My Drive at this time.

Create Backup

Create Backup

A backup file is a great way to store your data for the future if you accidentally lose it, load the route on a new phone, or share with friends and family so they can load it in Map My Drive on their device.

To create a backup file, tap the Share icon in the lower left corner of the map screen. Tap on Generate Backup File. A backup file will be generated which can saved to your device, iCloud, or shared through many other apps.

Backup files can be imported into Map My Drive. Check out Import Backup for more details.

Import Backup

Import Backup

Backup files generated from Map My Drive are specially formatted files that can be used to import a route into Map My Drive. This is a great way to transfer data between devices.

To import a backup file into Map My Drive, open the file and tap the share icon. Find and tap Map My Drive. It will show some details about the route. Tap Save To Map My Drive and the file will be saved to the app. Note: If you don’t see the app as an option to import to, you might need to enable it first. See the Transfer Data example on how to do that.

To finish the import, open up Map My Drive and it will automatically being importing your data. It may take some time depending on how much data you have. Please leave the app open and be patient.

Transfer Data

Transfer Data

If you use Map My Drive Classic on an iOS device, it’s simple to transfer all of your old routes to Map My Drive.

Open Map My Drive Classic and tap on Transfer Data from the main screen. This will generate a single file containing all of your data (except images) for all of your routes. It may take some time depending on how much data you have.

After the file is generated, you can import it directly into Map My Drive. It will show a list of your drives. Tap Save To Map My Drive and the file will be saved to the new app. Note: If you don’t see the app as an option to import to, you might need to enable it first.

To finish the import, open up Map My Drive and it will automatically being importing your data. It may take some time depending on how much data you have. Please leave the app open and be patient.

© 2019 Barefoot For Life

Theme by Anders Norén